Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews – Consumer Ratings

Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Consumer Ratings

Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Consumer RatingsRheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Rheem offers several economical air conditioning systems from 13 SEER to 17 SEER for residential and light commercial. Rheem air conditioners come in the Prestige series air conditioner or the Classic series air conditioner and features of various Rheem air conditioners include:
  • Energy Star rating on selected ACs
  • Two-Stage compressors in selected AC units offer higher efficiency for energy savings
  • On board diagnostics on select AC units that detects and records potential problems to make air conditioner troubleshooting easier for technicians servicing the unit.
  • Durable cabinets with sound blankets on compressors to reduce noise on selected air conditioners
  • Selected air conditioners use R-410A ozone friendly refrigerant
  • Easy access panels with pressure controls on selected air conditioners
Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Overall Rheem air conditioners are good systems. Rheem condensing units have unique designs that make them stand out from other manufacturers. Some units are low profile so the do not stand out. Rheem does have some proprietary parts that requires you to purchase parts from a Rheem dealer if there is a problem with some components.

Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Choosing the Contractor

One of the most important selections you can make when purchasing HVAC equipment is not the name brand of the appliance but the HVAC contractor you choose to install the product for you. It is very important that the system as a whole is installed properly lest problems occur later that will not be covered by warranty simply because the system was installed improperly. So make sure you choose a reputable and reliable HVAC contractor for your next HVAC purchase.

Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Consumer Ratings - History

Rheem Manufacturing Company was established in 1920's by Richard and Donald Rheem when the two brothers bought a galvanizing plant in San Francisco, CA. In the 40's and 50's Rheem expanded it's core product line of water heaters to include air conditioning and heating equipment. Rheem has expanded and is now a global company with offices in Europe, Australia, Canada, Asia, and South America. For more information on Rheem and their latest models and efficiency ratings visit the Rheem website.

Heating and Cooling Reviews

Rheem Air Conditioner Reviews - Consumer Ratings

9 Comments

Add a Comment
  1. Submitted on 2014/06/12 at 9:04 pm by Steve Cail | In reply to Archived Reviews.
    Same thing happened to our Rheem Prestige, installed 3 yrs ago, brand new.. Leaking Coil. Needs to be replaced. We’ve now been waiting 3 wks. We were told this in extremely rare & that’s why it’s taking so long to get a new one! BS is my reply. It’s 9pm here in Florida & 85 degrees in the house. Good thing we have fans in every room & we’re in good health!

  2. Submitted on 2014/01/14 at 12:12 pm by Bill
    I replaced a contractor special 10 SEER in 2010 with a 15-SEER Rheem, model # RHLL HM 3617JA. I made a mistake. I am in an excellent position to judge the Rheem’s performance in our house since the back part of the house has an American Standard heat pump, a company I DEFINITELY recommend. The air coming from the Rheem near the blower probably averages 7-8 degrees warmer in the summer than the American Standard. The Rheem struggles much to keep its area relatively cool at 73 degrees since it runs continuously from about 2-9 or 10 PM when the temperature is at least 97 degrees. On the other hand, the American Standard does a great job. The installer has checked the Rheem out and has found no problems with it. It that’s true, then this means the whole unit is a problem. I will never, ever buy Rheem again. Might not even take one free.

  3. Submitted on 2013/09/17 at 9:45 pm by Cam
    I have been in the HVAC field for 20+ years and I can tell you these systems are garbage. Yes! They are cheaper, but you will pay for it twice in the long run! Serviced two today that were dumping refrigerant. I use Lennox for a reason. The warranty and dependability.

  4. Submitted on 2013/07/05 at 2:37 pm by Richard | In reply to Bobbyj.
    It takes more than the HVAC equipment to get consistency in temperatures for any type of space you want to condition. Think of it like a refrigerator. If you have a large family and everyone keeps opening and closing the door the temperatures will not stay consistent. If it is just one or two people and they rarely open the refrigerator door the temperature inside will stay consistent. Additionally, if the refrigerator is old and has leaky seals the temperature inside will move up and down depending on the ambient temperature outside the refrigerator. The same with your house or space you are trying to condition. The dual/variable/modulating cooling and heating systems offer better efficiency but if you have leaking doors and windows (or duct work) or someone is opening and closing the door frequently then you will not get consistent temperatures no matter what type of system you buy. Your question by the way is either incorrectly asked or you are confused about something because dual capacity cooling&variable speed blower and dual compressor cooling/variable speed blower is essentially the same thing. Dual compressor cooling typically always comes with variable speed blowers as recommended by most manufacturers of HVAC equipment.

  5. Submitted on 2013/06/30 at 3:39 pm by Bobbyj
    Do I need dual compressor cooling/variable speed blower for consistent temp, or can I get it w/dual capacity cooling&variable speed blower

  6. Submitted on 2013/06/27 at 3:54 pm by Alan Gamiel
    I have a Rheem Prestige 4 ton that has never been right since the day it was installed 10/09. I have gone thru computer boards, 2 expansion valves, burned wires gas leaking and so on and on and on. I live in Florida and they needed to replace the expansion valve again except no one has it in stock ( because so many are going bad) that it has taken over a week and I still have not had it replaced. Air is running 24/7 just to keep the house at 78. $$$ just down the drain. I have been waiting weeks for their rep to help but no one and I don,t expect there will be any help at least anytime soon. Even the company I bought it from and who installed it said he has had nothing but problems with these units be warned and find a different brand when replacing you present air conditioner.

  7. Reviewed by M Thomas September 08, 2010

    If I had checked reviews and did my homework, this piece of junk Rheem would not be sitting in my backyard sounding like a freight train. Sent letters to Rheem in Atlanta, they forward them to
    what they call Rheem experts. I am the crazy one, the public relations on these Rheem experts
    has alot to be desired. Rude, and they don’t want to hear the bad. Nothing wrong with the unit.
    I even sent them a dozen work orders from the folks that installed it and I am the “Problem
    customer. They didn’t think I was a problem when I spent my hard earned money on it. Rheem and
    I have been going round and round and I am losing the battle. I guess I am just stuck with this
    creature. If I can get 5 people not to buy a Rheem than I will have defeated Rheem. So please
    folks, again do your homework and don’t think for a minute because it says Rheem is a good unit.

  8. Reviewed by Frances Thompson July 24, 2010
    Had nothing but trouble

    We built our house and moved in Feb of 2001. Our unit was installed in the winter of 2000, and we have had nothing but trouble from the first year. Our ducts are poor, though that is the fault of the installation, but the unit itself has broken down 7 times in 9 1/2 years of use.

    Our circuit board fried the first summer, which was under warranty, but still. The unit has had issues freezing up, had several leaks, and now we are needing a new coil. I don’t know that I want to put anymore money into this system. The furnace also has problems, and we have had someone out every year to fix something.

    I am so frustrated, as when you buy a new home you should expect things to work at least a few years before replacement.

  9. Reviewed by D Barnes May 26, 2010
    Worthless warranty and no parts available

    Our 3 year old, 4 ton unit went out.A bad valve caused pressure to build and caused a leak in the coil. Do to the wonderful 10 year warranty, it will cost $700 to replace the coil. EXCEPT, there are no coils available. Current date of availability is mid June. However, they will not say if that’s the build date, warehouse date, dc date, or at the HVAC shop date. This unit is just starting it’s 3rd summer. We rarely have the thermostat below 80 (and we are down south), so it has never been overly taxed. M shop tells me ADP makes a much better coil, bit it’s $1200. Research some more and pass on this outfit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HVAC Heating and Cooling © 2015 Frontier Theme